Resolutions

Happy New Year!  Now what? In the last few weeks, it has been a whirlwind of parties and rituals and presents and people.  Phew, time to sit down and take stock of life.

For me, my spiritual life seems to wane during the holiday season.  I think part of it is the physical dormancy of the earth.  I spend so much less time outside; instead it’s in front of my computer or TV screen.  Another is the exhaustion from finals and end of semester work.  For the first three days of break I was so tired I barely got out of bed.  Plus everything is just so chaotic and busy at this time of year.  As much as I love parties and events, they do take their toil on my time.

I know a lot of Pagans and Witches consider the spiritual New Year to be at either Samhain or Yule.  However I mark it today, the secular New Year.  While the relationship is recent, I work with the god Janus for whom the month January is named after.  In my personal practice, marking the year hear makes more sense.

So my resolutions.  Well, a few of them are academic, namely getting into and starting grad school.  All of my applications are due at the end of the month, so that one is immediately on my mind.  And of course I want a successful final semester at my university.  I also aim to become better at organizing and documenting my life.  Therefore I am going to create and stick to a budget, among other things.  It’s also a good point to get rid of things, so I am going through my clothes.

My resolutions in my spiritual house seem a little less obvious.  Become closer to the deities I work with?  Well, yes.  Continue to read and learn as much as I can?  Of course.  But what else?  I may have to get back to you.

May the God and Goddess bless you in 2013.

© Ariadne Woods

One thought on “Resolutions

  1. I hear you, getting to January 1st can be quite draining. To keep my energies in tune with my spiritual needs I find that I often have to take a day once a week or so where I spend time in the natural world. Sure it’s cold in winter but taking a nature walk in the cold can clear away much of the fog that the year’s end brings.

Leave a Reply

