Storing Up

I realize that with Independence Day barbecues and vacation plans just on the horizon, it’s hard to consider that in 2 short months, signs of winter will be in the air.  Yet as sure as the wheel turns, the days are subtly shorter.  As a follower of a nature based path, this fact means I have to savor the opportunity to be in nature while I can.  Despite the frequent thunderstorms this time of year, I try to take a walk every day.  Soak up the sun and spend time in my garden.  Try to buy or pick as many fresh flower bouquets as possible.

Something else that this time of the year is great for is working with herbs.  This time of year is when most herbalists begin producing freshly dried herbs.  As a result, herbal practitioners will be buying or drying product that is as close to hand picked as it’s going to get.  Therefore, this is the best time of year to create balms, tinctures, infused honey and oils, loose incense, tea blends, and herbal baths.

The biggest theme to take away from the months of July and August, the times between and around the Summer Solstice and Lammas, is taking in nature to get through the winter months.

© Ariadne Woods

2 thoughts on “Storing Up

  1. Dear TipToeChick, I love your blog and your wisdom about herbal magic. I will be an avid reader from now on. One herbal treat that has become my daily (and nightly ritual) is tea made from cloves, nutmeg and mint from my garden. I am a professional voiceover artist and these herbs clear my throat from any toxins and clutter from food and meds. It works for me. Be blessed with wisdom and healing energies every day. And keep blogging. -kelly

    1. Hi Karen, I am glad you enjoy my blog, but I am not TipToeChick. I occasionally share her videos, but we are two separate entities. Blessed be, Ariadne

Leave a Reply

