Witch Tips: Dating

Finding love can be an arduous and difficult task.  You look and search and come up with only frogs.  Well, I am not saying I am an expert in dating (far from it).  But I do have some words of wisdom.

  • Don’t Feel Like You Have to Date within the Community: Just because you are a Witch doesn’t mean your partner has to be.  A person’s personality and your connection to the person is more important than their religious affiliation.
  • Come Out on your Own Time: I don’t tell every guy who buys me dinner I’m a Witch.  Just the ones who stick around.  My best advice is to play it by ear.  And don’t be afraid to tell your special person about your witchness.  If they leave you because you’re a Pagan, then they’re a jerk and aren’t worth your time or tears.
  • Sleep With the People You Want to Sleep With (Within Reason): Yes, Witches are way more in touch with their sexual desires than most people.  And most people outside of the community tend to know that.  In my experience, that has led to a couple awkward situations of miscommunication and misunderstanding.  Bottom line: if sex is your end game when it comes to dating, go have some fun safely.  If your more into building a long term relationship with someone, then I suggest setting some boundaries early in the relationship and to make your likes and dislikes in the bedroom known early.
  • Spellwork is Futile If You Do Nothing: You can do every love-attraction spell in the book, but it will yield no results if you just sit on your couch.  Go meet new people.  Expand your social circle, enriching your life with both dates and friends.  If you are shy or introverted, consider internet services.
  • Know What You Want: Before you begin your adventures in dating, I highly recommend looking inward and examining what you want from a relationship.  Do you want to settle down, get married, and start a family?  Are you looking to date casually or seriously?  What role do you want in your romantic relationships?  What would you be willing to sacrifice?  Knowing what you want will not only make your path easier, but also more accurate to your spirit.

© Ariadne Woods

6 thoughts on “Witch Tips: Dating

  1. 🙂 I might suggest adding to the list, dating is not NOT important and if one doesn’t understand this, it might be best not to be doing it. A good sign is, if one feels the need to control, so far as to do said spell, one doesn’t want life, one wants TV or Hallmark.

    1. I disagree, dating is important (hence why I did the blog post!). Sometimes I think it gets a bad rep for being too ambiguous and not conducive to forming strong relationships, but how the hell are you supposed to know what you want from a relationship if you don’t meet people and see what works for you and what doesn’t?

      I do disagree that doing spellwork to find love is a sign someone shouldn’t be dating. A little attraction magic could neither harm nor hinder meeting the right person. I just think it shouldn’t be the primary focus of your Craft and no one should think doing a spell means you don’t need to do the work and meet people. Magic needs mundane follow through to give it a little push in the right direction.

      1. oh nooooooooo i think that I might have made a terrible horrid mistake!! Please delete the comments and I’ll email you if I can find a way to do so beyond typos communication issues and so on.

  2. thank you for changing what I stated that I didn’t agree with(sarcasm, more chiding), it was a chide, i think it was and is bad practice, making it look as if I said what I in fact did not say, only reinforces my point. I keep coming here because some of what you say comes on the road of trial and error, growth towards wisdom and true learning,

    Focus on dating and requiring a relationship is a sickness for many.

  3. Greetings!…I’ve nominated your blog for “The Witchy Blog Award”– and I want to personally thank you for inspiring me, entertaining me, enlightening me, and for giving your time and effort and talent to the wonderful world of blogging. Technology rocks! Keep on writing– your words are magickal!

    Blessings,
    Amythyst Raine-Hatayama
    ____________________

    The Rules:

    Dedicate at least part of a post to receiving the award and share the award logo
    Thank the blogger who passed the award to you
    Answer the seven questions below
    Nominate five Wiccan/Pagan bloggers (If you don’t know five other Wiccan bloggers, nominate as many as you can)
    Notify your nominees of their pending award
    Stop by Ayslyn’s Corner to add your name to the list of bloggers awarded

    Seven Questions: (You may customize as long as they are still Wiccan and Pagan related)
    How did you “discover” Wicca/Witchcraft/Neo-Paganism?
    Do you grow herbs?
    Are you “in the broom closet”?  If not, share your coming out experience.
    What tradition do you follow, if any?
    Do you consider yourself a Witch, Wiccan or Pagan (or maybe something else)?
    How much of Witchcraft/Wicca are you able to incorporate into your everyday life?
    Do you have a familiar? If you do, tell us how you met him/her, and how she/he takes part in your practice (if at all).

Leave a Reply

