Witch Tips: Paganism on the Go

Currently on this lovely Full Moon day, I am hanging out at my mom’s house visiting with her and the rest of my family.  This trip is the first of about six different out-of-town experiences over the next four months.  So for a while I am going to have to take my Pagansim on the road.
I think continuing spiritual practice in unusual environments can really broaden the Witch’s perspective as well as help to develop a flexible approach to the craft.  Here are a few tips I’ve used over the years to practice my faith everywhere I go.

  • Travel Altars: If you are a frequent flyer or spend a lot of time on the road, consider putting together a small kit to take with you when you’re away from home.
  • Green Space: There’s a few places that I travel to all of the time (my mom’s house, my grandparents’ retirement home, my sister’s apartment).  Because I tend to spend large amounts of time in those places, I’ve scouted out lovely outdoor places to maintain my connection with Mother Nature.  I highly recommend doing this at places your frequent.  At the very least, spending time outdoors scientifically reduces the effects of stress; and at the most it deepens your relationship with the natural world.
  • Public Sabats: One huge benefit of traveling is meeting and connecting with new people.  So if you’re out-of-town for Beltane or Mabon, why not take the opportunity to go to a public ritual and commune with new Pagan friends?  This can be especially enlightening if you do a lot of travel abroad. To find public sabats in any city, Meetup.com and the Witches’ Voice are two great places to start.
  • Five Minute Rituals: You don’t always need to perform a full, hour long ritual to work with the Goddess.  Especially if you are sharing space with friends or family or are at a big and busy work conference, this approach is not always practical.  You can light a candle to honor the esbats or do a pen and paper ritual for a sabat. As long as you perform the ritual mindfully and “with perfect love and perfect trust,” then it doesn’t matter how long the ritual is.
  • Keep on Reading: Traveling provides a lot of down time if you’re going from point A to point B.  It is the perfect opportunity to keep up with your Pagan book reading. If you are like me and can’t really read in a moving vehicle (or are driving), audiobooks are easy enough to load on an iPod.

© Ariadne Woods

One thought on “Witch Tips: Paganism on the Go

Leave a Reply

