Ariadne’s Top Ten Favorite Pagan, Wiccan, and Magicical Books

I don’t know if it is just my viewing habits, but lately I’ve been coming across a lot of videos and blog posts about Pagans and Witches’ book collections.  Now I can’t feasibly do that (my library is split between two states), but to add to the conversation I present to you my favorite Pagan-related books.  These aren’t necessarily the tomes richest in information, but are the books I go back to again and again.  In reality, these books are foundational to my personal practice, so I want to share them with my readers in hopes that they inspire others as much as they have inspired me.

  1. Wicca for the Solitary Practitioner by Scott Cunningham: It’s the first Pagan book I’ve ever read, and I go back to it once a year.  I just love his “do what you feel” ethos and how much time and research he puts into all of his books, especially this one.
  2. The Spiral Dance by Starhawk: Stawhawk was the first person to introduce me to the concepts of a Pagan community and environmental responsibility, which are now cornerstones of my practice.  Also, her practice is badass.
  3. To Walk the Pagan Path by Alaric Albertsson: I wrote a review of this book a few weeks ago, and still can’t get over how much I enjoyed the read.
  4. The Grandmother of Time by Z Budapest: I don’t agree with all of Ms. Budapest’s ideas (I prefer circling with both men and women), but I love how much she empowers women to take charge of their lives.  Also some of her rituals have become staples of my personal practice.
  5. The Garden Witch’s Herbal by Ellen Dugan: Basically, a how-to for anyone looking to work with herbs beyond what can be found dried in a Pagan shop.  Ms. Dugan is by far my favorite Pagan author.  I haven’t read all of her books yet, but I’m working on it!
  6. Everyday Witchcraft by Deborah Blake: This book is great for practitioners looking to blend their Pagan or Witch practices into their mundane life.  This book is a part two to The Goddess is in the Details, but I like this book more than I did the first.
  7. The Pagan Book of Living and Dying by Starhawk: This book really drove me to reflect on the cycle of life, death, and rebirth and got me through a difficult loss.
  8. Living Earth Devotional by Clea Danaan: I use this book almost every day as part of my daily practice.  It gives short lessons on the connection between the Earth and her children.
  9. Drawing Down the Moon by Margot Adler: I had to read this book in stages due to its length, but I really enjoyed its thorough analysis of Pagan paths.
  10. Cunningham’s Encyclopedia of Magical Herbs by Scott Cunningham: I work with herbs a lot, so Cunningham’s research and compilation of uses and correspondences has been a real help to me.

Bonus: CharmingPixieFlora‘s early practice (her videos from 2009-2010) has always been a source of inspiration to me. While our paths have since diverged, her videos are where I go when I feel a need to get inspired.

© Ariadne Woods

2 thoughts on “Ariadne’s Top Ten Favorite Pagan, Wiccan, and Magicical Books

  1. I love Scott Cunningham! He is one of my favorite Wiccan authors. I am also reading Everyday Witchcraft by Deborah Blake now. I love it so far. Some of the other books I am waiting to get. Thanks for the list.

Leave a Reply

