Witch Tips: Meditation

Meditation is incredibly popular across many religions and spiritual practices.  In the Pagan and Witch community, there is a strong correlation between mindfulness developed during meditation and several spiritual benefits: strong deity relationships, advanced psychic skills, more accurate spells, better ability to visualize, etc. I started meditating last summer as part of mind, body, and spirit self-care routine and have to admit it has made my Pagan practice more dynamic and my magic much stronger since I started.  For any person just starting to learn how to meditate, here are a few tips and tricks to make your practice successful.

  • Routine is Key:  You know all those great health and spiritual benefits the Mayo Clinic outlines?  Yeah, you will not reap them if you are a causal, once-in-a-great-while practitioner.  It’s the same as energy work, magic, and relationships with guides and gods.  The more you do it, the stronger you will be.
  • Not Once Size Fits All:  Some people feel called to use mantras.  Others use mala or prayer beads.  Guided meditations are also popular.  Mindful activities such as walking and yoga are considered forms of active meditation.  And others still just prefer to clear their mind.  Feel free to use a combination of these techniques to develop your practice.  For myself, I like to follow my mood.  Do some research on different techniques (examples: zazen, transcendental, and yogic) to find some practices that work for you.
  • Form a Ritual: Light a candle.  Ring a bell.  Say a prayer to the God and Goddess.  Make your meditative time an event rather than a chore.
  • Even Five Minutes a Day Makes a Huge Difference: Like most people, I don’t have time to meditate for long lengths of time every single day. If I get in five minutes, then I consider it a successful session.
  • Don’t Meditate When You’re Hungry: Or if you need to use the bathroom.  Or if you’re very ill or hungover.  Trust me; you will not get much out of your practice in that session.  So eat a cracker and wait twenty minutes before starting.

© Ariadne Woods

One thought on “Witch Tips: Meditation

  1. I think it’s funny you decided to post this today. I’ve been reading and watching youtube about other meditation exercises and experiences the whole week by now 🙂 I think it’s about my last youtube video I have on my “watch-later”-list 🙂 Thank you!

Leave a Reply

