Essential Oil Sprays

As you my lovely reader may have noticed, I love essential oils.  I was first exposed to them as a kid.  Lavender oil was my great-grandmother’s remedy for everything from bruises to stinky sinks.  I rediscovered them as an adult and have been experimenting ever since.
Lavender herb and essential oil
Dried lavender herb and essential aromatherapy . Source: http://www.newhealthadvisor.com/Essential-Oils-for-Vertigo.html
One way I use them is combined with water and crystals in an atomizer spray bottle.  I love how this diffusion method envelopes the user in a cloud of scent.  Also I’m asthmatic, so incense isn’t tolerable in my home.  And when my practice began in college, I couldn’t have candles for ritual so I used sprays to scent my dorm room.  Eventually I began making them myself.

I have presented you with three of my most beloved blends as well as a few  suggestions for creating your own blends.  Experiment and have fun!  If you are super into this topic, check out Scott Cunningham’s Magical Aromatherapy and Flora Sage’s Flora’s Fragrances.

Clear Space Spray

Whether you are conscious of it or not, we are constantly filtering energies.  Some of it is great, some of it not so much.  For those moments when you just need an energetic clean state, put together a blend that feels fresh to you.
My recipe:
20 drops lavender
20 drops lemon
20 drops sage
A few drops citrine chips
Other options for your own blends: Cedar, pine, lemongrass, clary sage, rosemary, quartz crystal, obsidian, black tourmaline

Sleepytime Spray

Study after study has shown the positive effects of a good night’s sleep.  But as we all know that’s easier said than done.  Something that has really helped me is to establish a bedtime routine.  One therapeutic aspect of my routine is to spritz this blend on my pillow.
If you choose to use this spray or your own blend in the same way, I strongly suggest you pick scents that you love.  You’ll be spending 7-8 hours with them.
My recipe:
20 drops lavender
10 drops chamomile
10 drops sandalwood
5 drops rose
5 drops vetivert
A few drops of amethyst chips
Other options for your own blends: Geranium, patchouli, cedar, ylang ylang, vanilla, clear quartz, rose quartz

Good Vibes/High Energy Spray

Ever hit that point in the day when you’ve lost all your energy and need a nap?  For me, this happens around 3:30.  The combination of this spray and a piece of chocolate gives me the energy I need for the rest of my day.
My recipe:
20 drops grapefruit
20 drops rosemary
10 drops sweet orange
10 drops bergamot
A few citrine chips
Other options for your own blends: Peppermint, orange, tangerine, lemon, rose, rose quartz

 

© Ariadne Woods

2 thoughts on “Essential Oil Sprays

Leave a Reply

